Catching Up

Back after an accidental break, and rocking a new season, Chris and Mandie talk more about hard rootbeer, awesome summer beer festivals, homebrewing, and just how damn busy they both are.

Show Notes

Refined Fool Illiterate Librarians Grapefruit IPA — http://www.refinedfool.com/beer/illiterate-librarians/

Dusty Boots Hard Rootbeer — www.lcbo.com/lcbo/product/dusty-boots-hard-root-beer/

Mill St Hard Rootbeer — http://millstreetbrewery.com/root-beer/

Session Toronto — http://www.sessiontoronto.com/

Ben Johnson on whiteness in the beer scene — https://bensbeerblog.com/2016/06/08/why-is-craft-beer-so-white/

Beaches BBQ and Brews Fest — http://beachbbqandbrews.com/

Leslieville Flea — https://leslievilleflea.com/

Leslieville Farmer’s Market — http://leslievillemarket.com/

Sawdust City Funk Fest — http://funkfest.sawdustcitybrewing.com/

Short Finger Homebrewing — https://shortfingerbrewing.com/

Bellwoods Jelly King — http://bellwoodsbrewery.com/product/jelly-king/

Sawdust City The Mountie — http://www.sawdustcitybrewing.com/our-next-winewood-release-the-mountie/

Griffin Gastropub — https://www.craftbeerevents.ca/the-griffin-gastropub-1.html

Toronto Festival of Beer — http://beerfestival.ca/

The Only Summer Beer Fest — http://theonlycafe.com/beerfest/

Left Field Prospect Mosaic — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/prospect

Chris’ Homebrewing Stuff — http://crookedbullseye.com/

People’s Pint — https://www.facebook.com/peoplespintTO/

Barn Owl Malt — http://www.barnowlmalt.ca/

Sandbanks (Just G0) — https://www.ontarioparks.com/park/sandbanks

Sight Glass Videos — https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiY3WTfLS5uxGo22djb2Szw

Root root root for the…. — Season 2 Episode 13

Summer is clearly upon us as there are dogs barking, awards to discuss, home brewing, is root beer the next big thing, RTDs, and heaps of events.

Show Notes

Wrigley Oat Pale Ale http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/wrigley-beer

Collective Arts Ransack The Universe http://collectiveartsbrewing.com/beer/ransack-the-universe/

Canadian Brewing Awards results http://www.canadianbrewingawards.com/

Nickel Brook http://www.nickelbrook.com/

Canadian Brewery of the Year Side Launch http://sidelaunchbrewing.com/

Escarpment Labs http://www.escarpmentlabs.com/

Pekko Hops http://www.brewnorth.com/products/us-pekko?variant=17586229252

Brewnorth http://www.brewnorth.com/

Short Finger Brewing https://shortfingerbrewing.com/

Not Your Father’s Rootbeer http://smalltownbrewery.com/our-beers/nyfrb/

Mill Street Rootbeer http://www.canadianbeernews.com/2016/05/13/mill-street-entering-hard-soda-category-with-distillery-root-beer/

Jordan St John http://saintjohnswort.ca/

GTA Brews Homebrew Club https://www.facebook.com/groups/GTA.Brews/

Georgian Bay Gin Smash http://www.georgianbayspiritco.com/#!our-products/cpax

Christine Sismondo on Gin Smash (and rootbeer too) https://www.thestar.com/life/food_wine/2016/05/27/the-best-pre-mixed-cocktail-to-have-ever-hit-the-lcbo.html

Leslieville Flea https://leslievilleflea.com/

Leslieville Farmer’s Market http://leslievillemarket.com/

Beach BBQ and Brews Fest http://beachbbqandbrews.com/

OCB Week http://www.ocbweek.ca/

Craft Beer Cruise (this past Saturday now, we record a bit in advance) http://craftbrewcruise.com/

Session Toronto http://www.sessiontoronto.com/

Castro’s Lounge http://castroslounge.com/

The Ethical Episode — Season 2 Episode 12

Chris and Mandie are talking CBC and getting ethical with how they spend their money. Get it in you!

Show Notes

Craft Brewers Conference — http://www.craftbrewersconference.com/

Robin LeBlanc — https://twitter.com/thethirstywench

Great Lakes Canuck Pale Ale — http://greatlakesbeer.com/index.php/beer/canuck-pale-ale/

Left Field Anniversary No. 3 — http://torontobeerblog.com/anniversary-no-3-left-field-brewery/

GTA Brews — https://www.facebook.com/groups/GTA.Brews/

Crooked Bullseye Chinook Beire de Garde — http://crookedbullseye.com/chinook-farmhouse-pair/

French’s gives a meal for every bottle of ketchup sold — http://www.frenchs.ca/en/products/tomato-ketchup/

Blundstone Boots — https://www.blundstone.ca/

Rode Microphones — http://en.rode.com/

Rainforest Alliance — http://www.rainforest-alliance.org/

The Only Cafe Spring Fest — http://theonlycafe.com/beerfest/index.html

Left Field’s Buffalo Bison’s Road Trip — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/events/june-11-bisons-road-trip

Things To Put Beer In — Season 2 Episode 11

Today, Chris and Mandie talk about all the stuff they’ve been up to, both drink beer with Sorachi Ace hops (just realized that), their mutual love for The Strumbellas, and lots about good glassware for beer.

Show Notes

Parking Rules — http://www.toronto.ca/311/knowledgebase/34/101000039234.html

The Pantry Cheese — http://www.thepantryfinecheese.com/

School House Booze  — http://www.schoolhousebooze.com/

The Worst Idea Of All Time — http://www.worstideaofalltime.com/

Amsterdam Cruiser All Day Pale Ale — http://www.amsterdambeer.com/beers/cruiser/

Brooklyn Sorachi Ace — http://brooklynbrewery.com/brooklyn-beers/big-bottles/sorachi-ace

Wrigley Field — http://chicago.cubs.mlb.com/chc/ballpark/

Wrigley The Dog — https://www.instagram.com/leftfieldwrigley/

Wrigley The Beer — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/wrigley

NY Times Review of Hope by The Strumbellas — http://www.nytimes.com/2016/04/21/arts/music/the-strumbellas-hope-is-coming.html

Spirits by The Strumbellas (shot in The Church of St Aidan in the Beach)

Spiegelau Craft Beer Glass — http://www.thebay.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/en/thebay/6-pack-of-craft-beer-glasses-0067-4991784–24

Other Spiegelau Glasses — http://tbb.link/1MMPjwD

Ben Johnson on Spiegelau Glasses — https://bensbeerblog.com/2016/04/07/lets-talk-about-glassware/

Chris’ Pewter Mug —

Hobbits Drinking Pints

Rastal Teku Glass — http://www.rastal.de/144.0.en.html

Sam Adams Utopias — https://www.samueladams.com/craft-beers/utopias

Sam Adams Utopias Glass — http://www.samueladamsstore.com/product/utopias-glass-by-riedel

 

The Friendly Talkative Episode — Season 2 Episode 10

Today Mandie and Chris are extra friendly and talkative. Covering home brewing, dog brewing, guerrilla gardening and new beers.

Show Notes

Left Field Eephus Oatmeal Brown Ale — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/eephus

Amsterdam Home Grown Saison — http://www.amsterdambeer.com/adventure-brews/

Chris’ non-club home brewing club, Crooked Bullseye — http://crookedbullseye.com/

Wrigley — https://www.instagram.com/leftfieldwrigley/

Wrigley’s Dog Biscuits — https://www.instagram.com/p/BDYlg2KmXka/

Wrigley’s beer, “Wrigley” an oatmeal pale ale — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/wrigley

Scarborough Butterfly Trail — http://www.insidetoronto.com/news-story/5595829-scarborough-centre-butterfly-trail-moves-towards-completion/

Hop Rhizomes (in case you need some…) — http://www.brewnorth.com/pages/hop-rhizomes or https://torontobrewing.ca/index.php/brewing-ingredients/hops/hop-rhizomes.html

Leslieville Farmer’s Market — http://leslievillemarket.com/

Brewmance — https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLw2QAAIz8OYy3ks23hJ_rtStxcdV53wJW

Pippin’s Tea Shop — http://www.pippinstea.com/

Left Field Galaxy Prospect Single Hop — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/prospect

Left Field Sunlight Park Saison actually is already out (yes, these things are recorded a few days in advance; the Home Opener is THIS Friday, too) — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/sunlight-park

 

The Old School New School Way — Season 2 Episode 9

In today’s episode, Mandie and Chris talk about their respective holidays, what they’re drinking, and why they’re sick of people saying Canada lags behind the USA in craft brewing.

Show Notes

La Diable Brewpub — http://microladiable.com/en/

Tooth and Nail SG video — https://youtu.be/P8OTSYbUY2s

Tooth and Nail Stamina — http://www.ratebeer.com/beer/tooth-and-nail-stamina/361596/

Amsterdam Starke Pils — http://www.ratebeer.com/beer/amsterdam-starke-pilsner/239418/

Brewnorth — http://www.brewnorth.com/

Toronto Brewing — http://torontobrewing.com/

Total Wine — http://www.totalwine.com/

Thrillist on craft beer citites about to blow up — https://www.thrillist.com/drink/nation/the-next-big-beer-cities-craft-beer-cities

The Grover — http://www.thegrover.ca/

Brewer’s Backyard — http://brewersbackyard.com/

Contractually Obligated — Season 2 Episode 8

Chris and Mandie do a string of non-sponsored advertisements, just because they like things so darn much. Talk about events, freeloaders and actually nice people with charitable requests, then lots on issues contract brewers face.

Show Notes

Back Blaze — protect yo sef https://secure.backblaze.com/r/01f4wd

Left Field Sweet Jesus — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/one-off-sweet-jesus

Left Field Hibiscus Sour Ale — https://untappd.com/b/left-field-brewery-sour-ale-with-hibiscus/1329260

Great Lakes Lake Effect IPA — http://greatlakesbeer.com/index.php/beer/lake-effect-ipa/

BJCP Style Guidelines — http://www.bjcp.org/stylecenter.php

Neal Brothers Chips — http://www.nealbrothersfoods.com/

CPM is actually “cents per mille” or “cost per mille”, and it’s how much a podcast gets paid for every thousand listens.

Left Field is not the only brewery to have been fully contract and moved to fully bricks and mortar brewery. Sawdust City did, as did Collective Arts, and Bell City, and Arch is nearly ready to open, just waiting on some final approvals (brewery is built and ready to brew) Late Breaking: Arch is opening later this week — http://www.canadianbeernews.com/2016/02/10/arch-brewing-opening-this-weekend-in-newmarket/

District This — Season 2 Episode 7

Featuring our first guest (sort of), big American beers and American stuff, Paddy’s patio woes, The Toronto Brewery District, and upcoming stuff.

Show Notes

Heady Topper — http://alchemistbeer.com/

Habanero Sculpin — http://www.ballastpoint.com/beer/sculpin-with-habanero/

First Guest Erika Schryer — Chris’ wife

Premiere Gourmet — http://www.premiergourmet.com/

Community Beer Works — http://www.communitybeerworks.com/

Ceili Cottage Yurt Drama — http://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2016/01/13/leslieville-yurt-moves-north-amid-landlord-tenant-dispute.html

Toronto Brewery District

CBC Metro Morning Bit – http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/programs/metromorning/brewery-district-1.3420305

El Toro — http://news.nationalpost.com/posted-toronto/toronto-nickname-contest-dubs-the-city-el-toro

The Whisky Trail — http://www.maltwhiskytrail.com/

New Brewery Stuff For Sale — http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/ottawa/ontario-brewers-get-ok-to-sell-local-artisinal-products-1.3390416

Burlington Beer Fest — http://burlingtonbeerfest.com/

The Only Cafe Winter Beer Fest — http://theonlycafe.com/events/index.html

Roundhouse Craftbeer Festival — http://craftbeerfest.ca/

Left Field Events — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/events

Sight Glass Videos — https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiY3WTfLS5uxGo22djb2Szw

Naples Breweries:

Pointing and Pinter — Season 2 Episode 6

Today Chris and Mandie are trying not to point fingers, and pausing like Pinter wrote the script. Talking babies, how they spent their holidays, best of 2015, and their good and bad predictions for 2016.

Show Notes

Ben’s first polar bear dip

Nickel Brook Uber Berlinerweisse — http://www.beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/11023/128392/

Predictions:

Cheshire Valley Mildly Amusing — http://www.cheshirevalleybrewing.com/mildly-amusing/

Burlington Beer Fest — http://burlingtonbeerfest.com/

The Only Cafe Winter Beer Fest — http://theonlycafe.com/events/index.html

Roundhouse Craftbeer Festival — http://craftbeerfest.ca/

Left Field Events — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/events

The Christmas Extravaganza — Season 2 Episode 5

CHRISTMAS EXTRAVAGANZA, talking beards, Bim, bbbbbbbgrocery store sales, and all sorts of Christmas traditions.

Show Notes

Clifford Porter — http://www.postcity.com/Eat-Shop-Do/Eat/January-2015/First-Draught-Clifford-Porter-goes-from-Get-Well-to-Waterloo/

6-4-3 IIPA — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/6-4-3

Burlington Beer Festival — http://www.burlingtonbeerfest.com/

Roundhouse Craftbeer Festival — http://www.craftbeerfest.ca/

Luc “Bim” Lafontane is opening a brewery at Queen and Coxwell — http://bensbeerblog.com/2015/12/21/former-dieu-du-ciel-brewmaster-opening-east-toronto-brew-pub/

Mary-Margaret McMahon is just awesome — http://councillormcmahon.com/

Beer is in grocery stores. Just Google it, there’s hundreds of articles…..

Seaspray Chinese Canadian Food — http://seasprayrestaurant.ca/

Garden Gate “The Goof” — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Goof

Red Door Shelter — http://www.reddoorshelter.ca/

A Child’s Christmas in Wales is definitely by Dylan Thomas, as he’s Welsh. Watch it now!

Home Alone now

 

Peace on Earth