More Cowbell — Season 3 Episode 5

In today’s episode Mandie-less Chris is joined by Stephen Rich, brewmaster at Cowbell Brewing, to talk about the environmental impact of making beer.

Show Notes

Cowbell Brewery — http://www.cowbellbrewing.com/

Muddy York Ward 1 Cascade Pale Ale — http://www.muddyyorkbrewing.com/the-wards-single-hop-series/

VQH Hops Farm — https://www.facebook.com/vqhfarms/

Big Ass Fans — http://www.bigassfans.com/

Weyermann Floor Malted Pilsner Malt — http://www.weyermann.de/eng/produkte.asp?idkat=203&umenue=yes&idmenue=&sprache=2

Doc Perdue’s Bobcat: LCBO

Absent Landlord: LCBO

Only Winter Fest — http://theonlycafe.com/

Steam Whistle Winter Craft Beer Fest — http://www.craftbeerfest.ca/

Because Beer Winter Fest? Nope, Burlington Beer Fest — https://www.burlingtonbeerfest.com/

Stephen Rich: srich@cowbellbrewing.com — @definitionale

Cowbell Brewing: FacebookTwitterInstagram

The Christmas Eve Ep — Season 3 Episode 4

Today it’s all things Christmas (and New Years) with Chris and Mandie. Family traditions, beer, recipes (kind of), beer, things on fire, and beer.

Show Notes

Left Field Prospect(s) — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/prospect

Collingwood Downhill Pale Ale — http://www.thecollingwoodbrewery.com/downhill-pale-ale/

Amsterdam Bord du Lac Saison — https://www.beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/769/234450/

German Firey Mulled Wine (Feuerzangenbowle)

Sugar Cone — http://jas-townsend.com/white-sugar-cone-p-802.html

Left Field Sweet Jesus — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/one-off-sweet-jesus

Left Field Magnus Force Belgian Strong Ale — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/magnus-force

Beau’s 80/+ — http://beaus.ca/beer/farm-table-80-shilling/

Refined Fool Pouch Envy — http://www.refinedfool.com/beer/pouch-envy/

Toronto Beer Blog Christmas Post — http://torontobeerblog.com/a-beer-lovers-christmas/

Five Paddles Brewing — http://5paddlesbrewing.com/

Ontario Beverage Network Beer Map — http://www.momandhops.ca/brewery-listing/

Short and Snowy — Season 3 Episode 3

Chris is all on his own today, and apologizing for not getting a real ep up. But he manages okay, and discusses tea, beer, snow, and Christmas.


Make it So Video — https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfKl_33pAtQ

Douglas Adams on Tea — http://h2g2.com/edited_entry/A61345

Orwell on Tea — http://orwell.ru/library/articles/tea/english/e_tea

Pippin’s Tea Shop — http://www.pippinstea.com/

Left Field Prospect Citra — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/prospect

Toronto Beer Blog Christmas Post — http://torontobeerblog.com/a-beer-lovers-christmas/

Baked Beans and Triscuits — Season 3 Episode 1

In today’s long-awaited return episode, Chris and Mandie discuss the future (it’s bright), what they’re drinking, some events, a chance to design Chris a tattoo, and more.

Show Notes

Left Field Wrigley Oat Pale Ale — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/wrigley-beer

Amsterdam Double Tempest Day — http://www.amsterdambeer.com/events/double-tempest-day-2016/

Amsterdam Howl — https://www.beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/769/150586/

Amsterdam 18 Hands — https://www.beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/769/151684/

Giving Tuesday — http://givingtuesday.ca/

Left Field Maris* — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/maris

Painting Night — https://www.paintnite.com/venues/135847.html

Beer and Cheese Pairings at Left Field — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/events/dec-5-beer-and-cheese-pairing

The Pantry — http://www.thepantryfinecheese.com/

Left Field Prospect Citra & Simcoe — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/prospect

Headcase showing at The Fox Theatre — https://www.universe.com/events/headcase-the-fox-theatre-tickets-ZY54TJ

Headcase Trailer — https://vimeo.com/64170920

Boaty McBoatface — https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RRS_Sir_David_Attenborough

Kviek at MTF — http://www.milkthefunk.com/wiki/Kveik

 

Catching Up

Back after an accidental break, and rocking a new season, Chris and Mandie talk more about hard rootbeer, awesome summer beer festivals, homebrewing, and just how damn busy they both are.

Show Notes

Refined Fool Illiterate Librarians Grapefruit IPA — http://www.refinedfool.com/beer/illiterate-librarians/

Dusty Boots Hard Rootbeer — www.lcbo.com/lcbo/product/dusty-boots-hard-root-beer/

Mill St Hard Rootbeer — http://millstreetbrewery.com/root-beer/

Session Toronto — http://www.sessiontoronto.com/

Ben Johnson on whiteness in the beer scene — https://bensbeerblog.com/2016/06/08/why-is-craft-beer-so-white/

Beaches BBQ and Brews Fest — http://beachbbqandbrews.com/

Leslieville Flea — https://leslievilleflea.com/

Leslieville Farmer’s Market — http://leslievillemarket.com/

Sawdust City Funk Fest — http://funkfest.sawdustcitybrewing.com/

Short Finger Homebrewing — https://shortfingerbrewing.com/

Bellwoods Jelly King — http://bellwoodsbrewery.com/product/jelly-king/

Sawdust City The Mountie — http://www.sawdustcitybrewing.com/our-next-winewood-release-the-mountie/

Griffin Gastropub — https://www.craftbeerevents.ca/the-griffin-gastropub-1.html

Toronto Festival of Beer — http://beerfestival.ca/

The Only Summer Beer Fest — http://theonlycafe.com/beerfest/

Left Field Prospect Mosaic — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/prospect

Chris’ Homebrewing Stuff — http://crookedbullseye.com/

People’s Pint — https://www.facebook.com/peoplespintTO/

Barn Owl Malt — http://www.barnowlmalt.ca/

Sandbanks (Just G0) — https://www.ontarioparks.com/park/sandbanks

Sight Glass Videos — https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiY3WTfLS5uxGo22djb2Szw

Root root root for the…. — Season 2 Episode 13

Summer is clearly upon us as there are dogs barking, awards to discuss, home brewing, is root beer the next big thing, RTDs, and heaps of events.

Show Notes

Wrigley Oat Pale Ale http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/wrigley-beer

Collective Arts Ransack The Universe http://collectiveartsbrewing.com/beer/ransack-the-universe/

Canadian Brewing Awards results http://www.canadianbrewingawards.com/

Nickel Brook http://www.nickelbrook.com/

Canadian Brewery of the Year Side Launch http://sidelaunchbrewing.com/

Escarpment Labs http://www.escarpmentlabs.com/

Pekko Hops http://www.brewnorth.com/products/us-pekko?variant=17586229252

Brewnorth http://www.brewnorth.com/

Short Finger Brewing https://shortfingerbrewing.com/

Not Your Father’s Rootbeer http://smalltownbrewery.com/our-beers/nyfrb/

Mill Street Rootbeer http://www.canadianbeernews.com/2016/05/13/mill-street-entering-hard-soda-category-with-distillery-root-beer/

Jordan St John http://saintjohnswort.ca/

GTA Brews Homebrew Club https://www.facebook.com/groups/GTA.Brews/

Georgian Bay Gin Smash http://www.georgianbayspiritco.com/#!our-products/cpax

Christine Sismondo on Gin Smash (and rootbeer too) https://www.thestar.com/life/food_wine/2016/05/27/the-best-pre-mixed-cocktail-to-have-ever-hit-the-lcbo.html

Leslieville Flea https://leslievilleflea.com/

Leslieville Farmer’s Market http://leslievillemarket.com/

Beach BBQ and Brews Fest http://beachbbqandbrews.com/

OCB Week http://www.ocbweek.ca/

Craft Beer Cruise (this past Saturday now, we record a bit in advance) http://craftbrewcruise.com/

Session Toronto http://www.sessiontoronto.com/

Castro’s Lounge http://castroslounge.com/

The Ethical Episode — Season 2 Episode 12

Chris and Mandie are talking CBC and getting ethical with how they spend their money. Get it in you!

Show Notes

Craft Brewers Conference — http://www.craftbrewersconference.com/

Robin LeBlanc — https://twitter.com/thethirstywench

Great Lakes Canuck Pale Ale — http://greatlakesbeer.com/index.php/beer/canuck-pale-ale/

Left Field Anniversary No. 3 — http://torontobeerblog.com/anniversary-no-3-left-field-brewery/

GTA Brews — https://www.facebook.com/groups/GTA.Brews/

Crooked Bullseye Chinook Beire de Garde — http://crookedbullseye.com/chinook-farmhouse-pair/

French’s gives a meal for every bottle of ketchup sold — http://www.frenchs.ca/en/products/tomato-ketchup/

Blundstone Boots — https://www.blundstone.ca/

Rode Microphones — http://en.rode.com/

Rainforest Alliance — http://www.rainforest-alliance.org/

The Only Cafe Spring Fest — http://theonlycafe.com/beerfest/index.html

Left Field’s Buffalo Bison’s Road Trip — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/events/june-11-bisons-road-trip

Things To Put Beer In — Season 2 Episode 11

Today, Chris and Mandie talk about all the stuff they’ve been up to, both drink beer with Sorachi Ace hops (just realized that), their mutual love for The Strumbellas, and lots about good glassware for beer.

Show Notes

Parking Rules — http://www.toronto.ca/311/knowledgebase/34/101000039234.html

The Pantry Cheese — http://www.thepantryfinecheese.com/

School House Booze  — http://www.schoolhousebooze.com/

The Worst Idea Of All Time — http://www.worstideaofalltime.com/

Amsterdam Cruiser All Day Pale Ale — http://www.amsterdambeer.com/beers/cruiser/

Brooklyn Sorachi Ace — http://brooklynbrewery.com/brooklyn-beers/big-bottles/sorachi-ace

Wrigley Field — http://chicago.cubs.mlb.com/chc/ballpark/

Wrigley The Dog — https://www.instagram.com/leftfieldwrigley/

Wrigley The Beer — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/wrigley

NY Times Review of Hope by The Strumbellas — http://www.nytimes.com/2016/04/21/arts/music/the-strumbellas-hope-is-coming.html

Spirits by The Strumbellas (shot in The Church of St Aidan in the Beach)

Spiegelau Craft Beer Glass — http://www.thebay.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/en/thebay/6-pack-of-craft-beer-glasses-0067-4991784–24

Other Spiegelau Glasses — http://tbb.link/1MMPjwD

Ben Johnson on Spiegelau Glasses — https://bensbeerblog.com/2016/04/07/lets-talk-about-glassware/

Chris’ Pewter Mug —

Hobbits Drinking Pints

Rastal Teku Glass — http://www.rastal.de/144.0.en.html

Sam Adams Utopias — https://www.samueladams.com/craft-beers/utopias

Sam Adams Utopias Glass — http://www.samueladamsstore.com/product/utopias-glass-by-riedel

 

The Friendly Talkative Episode — Season 2 Episode 10

Today Mandie and Chris are extra friendly and talkative. Covering home brewing, dog brewing, guerrilla gardening and new beers.

Show Notes

Left Field Eephus Oatmeal Brown Ale — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/eephus

Amsterdam Home Grown Saison — http://www.amsterdambeer.com/adventure-brews/

Chris’ non-club home brewing club, Crooked Bullseye — http://crookedbullseye.com/

Wrigley — https://www.instagram.com/leftfieldwrigley/

Wrigley’s Dog Biscuits — https://www.instagram.com/p/BDYlg2KmXka/

Wrigley’s beer, “Wrigley” an oatmeal pale ale — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/wrigley

Scarborough Butterfly Trail — http://www.insidetoronto.com/news-story/5595829-scarborough-centre-butterfly-trail-moves-towards-completion/

Hop Rhizomes (in case you need some…) — http://www.brewnorth.com/pages/hop-rhizomes or https://torontobrewing.ca/index.php/brewing-ingredients/hops/hop-rhizomes.html

Leslieville Farmer’s Market — http://leslievillemarket.com/

Brewmance — https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLw2QAAIz8OYy3ks23hJ_rtStxcdV53wJW

Pippin’s Tea Shop — http://www.pippinstea.com/

Left Field Galaxy Prospect Single Hop — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/prospect

Left Field Sunlight Park Saison actually is already out (yes, these things are recorded a few days in advance; the Home Opener is THIS Friday, too) — http://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/beers/sunlight-park

 

The Old School New School Way — Season 2 Episode 9

In today’s episode, Mandie and Chris talk about their respective holidays, what they’re drinking, and why they’re sick of people saying Canada lags behind the USA in craft brewing.

Show Notes

La Diable Brewpub — http://microladiable.com/en/

Tooth and Nail SG video — https://youtu.be/P8OTSYbUY2s

Tooth and Nail Stamina — http://www.ratebeer.com/beer/tooth-and-nail-stamina/361596/

Amsterdam Starke Pils — http://www.ratebeer.com/beer/amsterdam-starke-pilsner/239418/

Brewnorth — http://www.brewnorth.com/

Toronto Brewing — http://torontobrewing.com/

Total Wine — http://www.totalwine.com/

Thrillist on craft beer citites about to blow up — https://www.thrillist.com/drink/nation/the-next-big-beer-cities-craft-beer-cities

The Grover — http://www.thegrover.ca/

Brewer’s Backyard — http://brewersbackyard.com/